Kapow!!!! Right in the Kisser!

I really hope that makes sense.

I needed a K for this post and that’s all my brain could come up with.

After being laid up for about 3 weeks, with my appendix, some sort of virus and then getting attacked with gluten, my household is falling apart. I mean more in the grocery/food areas.

Everything we had (which wasn’t much) was molding, rotting and depleted.

I had to replenish. I usually grocery shop once a week. My average spending is about $200-$230 a week. Yes, that might seem excessive. An entire household, eating healthy/gluten-free, adds up quickly. We’ve kind of come to terms with the expense.

However, after not shopping for so long, my cabinets/fridge, needed some serious TLC.

So I went to the grocery store. That’s where the “Kapow” comes in. My grocery bill total, came out to be about $450.

My poor husband. He has the stress sweats. Have you ever received one of those LONG texts from your spouse? It was like a book. It had chapters. I cried a little.

I don’t like spending that much money. I promise. I guess I do like to eat. After 3 weeks of not really being able to eat, I went to the grocery store and got a little excited. I could buy food and I could actually eat it now!

Here’s a few pictures to give you some examples:

IMG_3272

This here is all I purchased. Yes, technically this is one weeks worth of groceries. There’s quite a bit that will last us longer than one week though. However, fresh fruits and veggies, I buy those weekly.

IMG_3273

This picture represents my “Celiac” finds. Whenever I find something new that’s gluten-free, I have to try it. It’s the law. Do you see those snack cakes up there? I’ve already had 2. I ate one on the car ride home and I’m eating one now. It’s like a gluten-free version of the Little Debbie cakes. I did pay $8.00 to enjoy those. Far from the cost of Little Debbie cakes which are maybe $2.00 total.

The pretzels were disappointing. But, what do I expect? I had no idea how important gluten was to bread. Those pretzels were also $8.00. For 6 of them.

I finally found a cereal with marshmallows in it that’s gluten-free. And it’s SUPER delicious! So much so, I’m debating on sharing it with the kids at all. That was about $5. And I bought 2…because marshmallows.

Our groceries add up fast. But finding good gluten-free items is tricky and sometimes, in my opinion, the cost can be worth it for a bit of normalcy in our lives.

3 thoughts on “Kapow!!!! Right in the Kisser!

  1. We don’t have any allergies in our house, but my daughter did have sensitivities for a while, which meant we were both milk-, soy-, and egg-free. It’s tough! It’s nice that there are so many gluten-free options these days, but they do seem to be awfully expensive. Glad you’re feeling well enough to get back to good eating, though!

    Good luck with the rest of the challenge!

    Daryl

    Like

LOVE COMMENTS! Bring them on!

