Rainy Day Update

I totally failed the A to Z challenge. I made it all the way to the end, and when my last blog failed to post, I gave up.

I’m so weak. Oh well. It’s done and now I can get back to the nothingness I usually post.

It’s springtime in Minnesota, which means, lots of rain, random shifts in temperature and ticks. Beautiful. I’ve been skimming through everyone’s hair, making sure I don’t find ticks. I don’t need a repeat episode of what happened a couple years ago. I had brought the kids in to a salon for some quick cuts and halfway through buzzing one of the boys, the girl stopped and motioned me over.

“I can’t continue. He has a tick in his head.” She told me.

“Oh. My. Gosh.” I stared at it, trying not to freak out, thus causing him to freak out. “What do I do?” I asked.

“Pull it out?” She questioned, handing me a tweezers.

“Crap.” I had never pulled a tick out before and I know that there are certain ways your supposed to do this. But in public, with everyone in the salon watching me, I knew I just had to go for it. I grabbed a hold of that sucker, gagging slightly at the thought of what I was about to do, and pulled.

Half my sons scalp stretched out as I pulled. That tick was comfy! I just kept pulling and trying not to throw up all over the place.  I managed to pull it out, completely out, without too much issue. I saved the day! The haircut could be completed.

Seriously. I’m still shivering in disgust thinking about that again.

We are prepping for a garage sale we are having this weekend. It’s mostly me doing a lot of it. Jalon helped dig out some of the items, but since I stay at home, it’s up to me to organize it and price it.

I’m excited to have a chance to clear the house of all this stuff, but I always forget how much work goes into this process.

Ugh. There’s so MUCH STUFF! We are such hoarders. It’s sad. I can’t believe the crap we found! Boxes of random baby crap, old baby socks that no longer have a match and even some old food, from my couponing days 2 years ago.

Yum.

And the things I purchased, thinking it would be so “cool” to have! Like a pop tart maker. Yeah. I used that thing 1 time. The homemade variety, surprisingly, tasted nothing like their boxed counterparts. Imagine that.

There are items I’m finding are harder to part with, but I’m trying to let go anyway. Like the toy kitchen we bought Evan when he turned 1. Or the train table he ADORED! So sad. But now they will be new memories for someone else.

Now, time to fix myself some coffee, wander around the house aimlessly for a good 20 minutes before I finally sit down and get to work.

One thought on “Rainy Day Update

  1. OMG.. the tick removal in public. I would have been freaking out and I don’t usually freak too easily. Having grown up in the prairies in Canada, we know our ticks… the dog especially. I hate them. Good luck with the garage sale… they are some fun… not! Ha Ha.. but it always feels great to get rid of stuff too or know it is going to someone who will now love it.

    Like

LOVE COMMENTS! Bring them on!

