Date Night Hockey Game

My husband won amazing tickets to a playoff game for our Minnesota Hockey Team, The Wild. Knowing I’m not a huge fan of hockey, he cautiously asked me if I wanted to go with him. I said “Of course” only because they were “cool” tickets and I can’t afford “cool” tickets. You have to experience that at least once in your life.

However, the game was late. 8:30 p.m. start time. Normally, because I get tired, I’m in bed around 9:30.

This was going to be a long night.

I prepared myself for boredom by bringing along my Harry Potter book. I can’t believe the amount of people who felt the need to comment on that idea. There’s nothing wrong with carrying your book with you! BACK OFF! I LIKE BOOKS! The security guy looked at me like I was nuts and hardly let me in with it.

I will have you know that I didn’t crack my book open the entire evening.

So there.

I will now go into the picture portion of our evening:

IMG_3390

The view from our walkway. St. Paul is so pretty from my amazing, expensive, but free, viewpoint.

IMG_3391

The people view from our walkway. We were in the “club” area. I felt so cool. I’m not. But it’s nice to “feel” that way once in a while.

IMG_3392

The view from our seats. Not too shabby.

IMG_3393

Our section had a waiter and a menu. You order and he brings you the goods. You don’t even need to leave your seats. Unless you’re a big baby and need to use the bathroom….Jalon. I will hold in my pee as long as possible to avoid the awkwardness of making people move in the constricted walkways.

We also received a cool towel for FREE. I’m all about free stuff.

IMG_3395

Loud. So damn loud.

IMG_3396

Even louder now. Please help me.

IMG_3401

I took this photo right before our team scored their first goal. Apparently they scored a couple more times, but we left. It was 1-3 and there was maybe 5 minutes left. I guess a lot can happen in a few minutes in hockey. We still lost…boo.

IMG_3411

The “Mascot” hitting the drum. Noisy bastard. Also, what kind of animal is he? NO ONE KNOWS?!?! That’s right. I couldn’t figure it out, so I did some research.

Nordy[edit]

The Minnesota Wild unveiled their mascot, named Nordy, on October 5, 2008. Little is known about the species of the mascot – some say he is a mix of a bear and a fox wearing hockey hair and a green “M” on his forehead.[15][16] Nordy is the newest member of the team of 18,000 and wears the jersey number 18,001

It has a mullet! Can we please pick an ACTUAL ANIMAL!!! Something that really exists in nature?! Come on, Minnesota! It can’t be that hard! This thing is just embarrassing…

IMG_3416

This was my view if I looked up. There was a row of seats right at the edge of that and a very drunk dude that kept leaning over the edge to yell at the players. I was a little nervous. Mostly because of vomit. That wouldn’t be pretty.

And what the heck happens if he falls on me? Am I supposed to catch him? Run away so he can slam into the seats? I didn’t receive a briefing on this beforehand.

I have a video of the beginning portion of the game, but it’s SO LOUD and BRIGHT with flashing lights. I didn’t want you to have a seizure. Safety first!

It was pretty intense. I can’t BELIEVE how much people get into this. They should be studied in school by scientists. Don’t get me wrong, I did find myself gasping and cheering along at times. However, yelling at the players, as if they can hear you or even care, is kind of bizarre. Whatever helps you sleep at night.

That’s all I have for you. I paid attention to the whole game. Yes, I was bribed with gummy worms, but still…

3 thoughts on “Date Night Hockey Game

    • I’ve been to baseball games before and it’s so different! I did go to one other hockey game, but this was also different, maybe because it’s playoffs? Not sure.

      Like

  1. Too funny:) I went to a baseball game this weekend and your thoughts are similar to mine. People get really involved in this and yes, it appears like it is life and death. Can be a bit disconcerting when there is a very controversial call etc. Not exactly G rated if you have kids with you. Glad the gummy worms did their trick.

    Liked by 1 person

LOVE COMMENTS! Bring them on!

