Suprise! I Actually Finished Something I Started!

My husband has returned from China. Finally. Which means I can share my project with you. Finally.

Because I apparently have nothing better in life to do right now, I come up with crazy project ideas and never really know if I will actually get them done. I can talk myself out of doing a lot of stuff.

However, thanks to my Mother-in-law, we actually managed to finish this project before my husband came home!

IMG_4185

Step 1: Chop down bush. This was quite the job. I didn’t know it had so many branches underneath. It was also quite pokey.

IMG_4186

The mess I made. Because that’s who I am deep down inside. A huge slob.

IMG_4188

My Father-in-law to the rescue! Removing the stump for me!

IMG_4190

Then I had to load it all up to take to the dump. Blah. So. Very. Stabby.

IMG_4189

Declan walked around the entire time telling me how I was doing this “ALMOST” as good as Daddy. “Good Job, Mommy. You almost did it like Daddy that time.” He almost ended up at the dump.

This rock removal process was actually the worst of it all. I kept finding homes of giant centipedes and some seriously large spiders. They must have been there for awhile, because their size was very intimidating.

IMG_4197

Learning to take selfies. Thanks Declan. But you can actually see us working away at removing a few tons of dirt.

Piece of advice: Before doing a project, even if it seems like a super small project, have a very well thought out plan. Like where you’re supposed to put dirt and rock when you dig them out. Because finding a random home right in the middle of a project is probably not ideal.

To Jalon: Sorry about the 6 wheel-barrels of dirt I hid behind the shed. I had no choice.

IMG_4203

Declan wanted to play with the camera for a bit while we worked. I had to delete about 70 random images. So glad we’re in the digital age now.

IMG_4204

My wonderful Mother-in-law. She not only kept me motivated but really got down and dirty with me.

20151005_132258

Our visit to the dump. Not sure I did it right. Not sure if you can actually screw this process up? Found a pile that looked like bushes and tossed mine in there. No one yelled at me, so I guess I was OK.

20151005_122507

Our progress after about 3-4 days. ALMOST THERE!

20151005_154334

No, we didn’t really know what we were doing. However, I think we did great! It may not last a lifetime, but I’m sure it will get us through a few years.

20151006_164212

And the finished product! This entire project all began because of that tiny table and chairs I found for $10. Doesn’t take me long to take things way too far. But look at it! Totally worth it, right?

Exactly what I was hoping my husband would see when he arrived.

We made a patio area just in time for it to snow…

Great timing, huh?

Well, we’ll enjoy it until it does.

3 thoughts on “Suprise! I Actually Finished Something I Started!

  1. Funny post…great job!!! axing how a ten dollar purchase turns into a major project costing more than the actual purchase itself in terms of time and labor..:) but it was all worth it in the end.

    Like

LOVE COMMENTS! Bring them on!

