Here We Go…Again!

It’s time for BACK TO SCHOOL!! Except this time, it will include…ME!!!!

Yes, I get to go back to school, while the kids are in school. I’m so damn nervous. What the hell was I thinking? This seemed like such a good idea months ago and now that the time is here, I DON’T WANNA GO!!!!!

I won’t even be here to take the kids to their first day. How crappy is that? I have orientation first thing in the morning.

Honestly, I’m a little excited. I get to take some AWESOME classes! All that learning, coming at me, I’m gunna be so smart.

However, because I’m going to be at school, doing schoolie-like things, I needed a command center for our family. One place where all the stuff would go. The big calendar. The menu plan for the week. That way when Jalon has to take over, nothing will (yeah, right) go wrong.

Of course, as usual, Pinterest had ALL THE IDEAS in one handy location. Then, as usual, I had NO LUCK finding ANYTHING similar to what I saw online. Crap. And no, I’m not ordering it online and waiting for it to arrive. I came up with this idea and had a week to pull it off. I’d like to say I nailed it. But my husband did most of that for me, since I’m scared of power tools…

I tried several (about 50) different stores. Finally, (thanks to my Mom and her awesome* advice), I found a solution, RIGHT HERE IN FRONT OF ME!! Well, the garage anyway. Bonus points were gained pissing off husband by playing in the garage and digging until I found what I wanted and used whatever I found.

*by awesome, I mean I totally didn’t like it at the time. But, as usual, we always end up taking Mom’s advice. Because that’s just how life works.

This was the area “before”. I had this corner kitchen table we never use anymore. We actually have a bigger dining room table we have been using more often, now that the kids are bigger and less likely to spill. We sold the small corner table. And on the right, you can see where the kids were putting backpacks and coats. And eventually snow pants, winter coats and everything else they lug home. It gets so crowded in the winter that we can hardly open the door.

IMG_5013

This is what I found in the garage. Old windows! I actually have two, but only one was used in this project. I sprayed it a beautiful charcoal gray. You can see my chalk outline design on the driveway. That’s how I plan. By drawing on the driveway in chalk. Elegant.

IMG_5014

And *POOF* just like that, it’s done! Just kidding. I painted it all. The left side is bulletin board material, covered with fabric. The middle is chalkboard paint. The right side is for dry erase markers. The baskets are for the kids hats and mittens. Jalon used magic to put it all together. I’m pretty sure that’s what it was.

IMG_5015

And I had to fix the wall. Because I’m the one that made it all holey before. Oops. I cannot be trusted with a hammer and nails. Ever.

Jalon, lovingly, volunteered to put it up for me. He sweat all over. ALL OVER. But it’s so pretty!!!!

IMG_5020

The FINISHED PRODUCT!!! Isn’t it pretty?! The file holders are for the kids paperwork. They bring home folders each day, so they have to empty them in the holder. The container on the left is for the dry erase markers, chalk and tacks needed. The calendar is our family calendar. And the clock is useless since no one can tell time. But it was on sale and matched the kitchen.

IMG_5023

Just a closer picture in case you want to come over for dinner one night this week. Feel free to pick your day. You will be making your choice, just so you know.

I thought that when this was all done, I would be feeling SUPER ready for the upcoming year. But I find that I’m even more anxious now that I have nothing to do. Shoot.

LOVE COMMENTS! Bring them on!

