Homework as an Adult

Homework as an adult seems to suck just as much as it did when I was in High School. However, adding 3 kids, a house to clean, meals to make, life to manage, to the to-do list is really adding to the suck factor.

My husband has been helping out SO MUCH, but there’s honestly more than we can both handle right now. Which means, things have gotten a little out of hand around our house.

For example?

I found a dead fly in the freezer. Why? No clue. How long has it been there? Not sure. Is it still in there, even at this moment as I type this? Why, yes. It is.

The laundry has exploded. I’ve been trying to do loads of laundry in between classes and homework…unfortunately, it just keeps multiplying. There are approximately 9 loads of laundry, right now. 2 are filling the washer and dryer, both on their second round. The rest are spread between the floor of our house, or in a nice clean pile in my bedroom, waiting to be put away. I should probably be doing it now, instead of writing, but it’s not going anywhere.

I’ve been so caught up in the days, that I actually forgot that September in Minnesota= cooler weather. Obviously, I know that despite my drawers still containing shorts, that it would be rather stupid to actually wear them. My kids don’t know that just yet. I haven’t taken out their summer clothes yet. I’ve been picking them up in the afternoons (highs of 60’s right now) wearing shorts and tank tops. Yeah, that’s probably not that bad, but it’s only going to get worse. I feel bad.

I did pull out all their summer clothing and put it in a tote that is sitting in the middle of the living room. One step at a time.

School is going OK. I’m totes bombing Chemistry already. Didn’t take long, did it? I’ll be doing extra tutoring to help with that. I wish there was some way to stay on campus, so I could be there during the random hours that they offer tutoring and study groups. Living in a dorm room was not an option for me. But maybe this would work?:

 1

I’ll just put it on the back of my car and *poof* insta-home! Isn’t it the cutest?! I’ll just live in the parking lot on the days I need to stay there. That’s cool, right?

And on that note, I’ll leave you with some funny things my kids have said lately, because it’s all I have. I’m too tired for actual thinking right now.

Morgan: “Wish I could have a treat too.”

Me: “Wishes are fun, aren’t they?”

Morgan: “Yeah. They never actually come true.”

 

Evan’s friend: “Ask your Mom if we can do a lemonade stand.”

Evan: “MOM! Can we do a lemonade stand?”

Me: “Wait until the weekend, you will have better business then.”

Evan’s friend: “What does that even mean? Was that a no?”

Evan: “That’s her nice way of saying no. If we ask her again, we’ll get her mean way.”

LOVE COMMENTS! Bring them on!

