January: The Month of Blah

I hate this month. I’m also not a fan of February. In Minnesota, these two months are pretty much the worst. It’s winter, not the good beautiful winter we expect at Christmas, but the nasty, cold, slushy winter that comes after. It’s raining outside right now. Which means it will be frozen by tomorrow. Which also means, traffic will suck tomorrow morning. Winter officially sucks now.

The holidays for us went well. Lots of fun, lots of relaxing and way too much eating.

Because of that eating, I decided that my husband and I should get healthy. WE discussed it for about a week. WE talked about getting a treadmill, or a spinning bike for the house. WE even discussed getting a personal trainer. WE then decided a gym membership was our best option. I did research into which gym was better, closer and offering a deal because it was January. I actually found the perfect one. After all that research and digging, WE go in to sign up and when asked how many people will be using it, he said, “Only one. We’re here for her.” Then he looked at me and said, “I never actually agreed to getting one. But you can.” WHAT?! Great. Thanks hun.

I actually intended on us doing this together. Supporting each other. Maybe not working out at the same time, but giving each other the opportunity to go when possible and encouraging each other. Which also included us maybe eating healthier together. Making better choices, together. Key word here: TOGETHER.

So I am now a member of Anytime Fitness. Wanna know something else really super cool? When asked how many months, 12 or 18, he said, “She will do the 12 month membership. And I’ll just pay for the entire cost right now.” WHAT WHAT?!? Seriously. He just paid the entire year. Crap. No backing out now. This wasn’t exactly the motivation I was looking for, but I guess it will work. Guilt. A great motivator.

I am excited to be going to the gym though. It always helps take care of some of the winter blah feeling and I’m looking forward to wearing my pants again. It’s been awhile.

 

LOVE COMMENTS! Bring them on!

